Daddy’s Girl: A Spoken Poem

Do you remember dancing? Do you?
My feet were to small to keep up in my little red shoes. Small feet.
I stood on yours for support. Supported by you.
This was a metaphor of how I would have loved life to be.
I would have loved your support.
Instead you were to consumed with everything green
From envy to money
When the skin on my nose flipped up
You weren’t there
When I cut off my hair
You weren’t there
When I made long red cuts in my arm to release my demons
You weren’t there
When I laid in bed with a manipulative narcissist you weren’t there
……IN FACT…..
You said the life the narcissist almost gave me was my fault but look at the fucking family tree, everyone loves somebody, that hurts them. I loved you, and he loved me, and I loved him, and you didn’t love me. And I loved climbing trees and being free than I loved scratches in places and being a caged me.

YES, I am to blame daddy, because there is no one in charge of my destiny
But while I am to blame..since we play the blame game..
Why was it so easy, to easy, for me to forgive a man who would cheat on me?

Note From the Author.

From a Photographer and graphic designer I support. Kate. Click to link to her photography.
From a Photographer and graphic designer I support. Kate. Click to link to her photography.

This poem is to be taken how you take it, I do believe your perception is your reality. I Choose this picture because when people think of a Daddy’s girl they think of innocence and fun.  This picture is actually from a classmates campaign.

Leave a Reply

